Sikh News

Behbal Kalan Firing Accused Ex-SSP Charanjit Sharma Files Challenges Report of Justice Ranjit Singh Commission in High Court

ਬਹਿਬਲ ਕਲਾਂ ਗੋਲੀ ਕਾਂਡ ਦੇ ਦੋਸ਼ੀ ਪੁਲਿਸ ਅਫਸਰਾਂ ਖਿਲਾਫ ਕਾਰਵਾਈ ‘ਤੇ ਹਾਈ ਕੋਰਟ ਨੇ ਰੋਕ ਲਾਈ

Bhai Krsishan Bhagwan Singh and Bhai Gurjeet Singh, who were killed in police firing at Behbal Kalan on 14 October 2015 [File Photo]

It is notable that while holding an inquiry into Behbal Kalan police firing incident of 14 October 2015, the Justice (Retd.) Ranjit Singh found that these cops, besides others, were responsible for opening gunfire on Sikh sangat who were holding a peaceful demonstration seeking arrest of those who had committed beadbi of Guru Granth Sahib at Bargari village.

On the recommendations of the commission, the Punjab government had included names of these cops in an FIR registered in relation to the firing incident.

L to R: Bikramjit Singh, Charanjit Sharma, Paramraj Umranangal and Sumedh Saini. Justice Ranjit Singh Commission has identified the role of these police officials along with others in Behbal Kalan firing case



It is also pertinent to note here that the commission was appointed by the Punjab government in April 2017 under the provisions of the Commission of Inquiries Act, 1952. The commission found that the police action against Sikh sangat at Kotkapura and Behbal Kalan was unprovoked and unwarranted.

SSP Charanjit Sharma and other petitioners have reportedly maintained in his petition that the commission of inquiry cannot act as investigation officer. Petitioners have also alleged that he was not issued notice before recording their statements and they were not given opportunity to defend themselves.

They have also maintained that the neither the Justice Ranjit Singh Commission was in continuity of Justice Zora Singh Commission appointed by the previous SAD (Badal)-BJP government in Punjab nor it was appointed after issuing notification discarding appointment of previous commission.

As per information the High Court has installed stay on proceedings against the petitioners and issued a notice to Punjab government for September 20.

Names of the four Police cops, who were inducted in the FIR are as follow:

  1. PPS officer Charanjit Sharma (the then SSP of Moga Police District and now retired)
  2. PPS officer Bikramjit Singh (the then SP (Detective) of Fazilka)
  3. Senior Inspector Amarjit Singh
  4. Inspector Pardip Singh

ਚੰਡੀਗੜ੍ਹ: ਪੰਜਾਬ ਅਤੇ ਹਰਿਆਣਾ ਹਾਈ ਕੋਰਟ ਨੇ ਅੱਜ ਬਹਿਬਲ ਕਲਾਂ ਗੋਲੀ ਕਾਂਡ ਵਿਚ ਦੋਸ਼ੀ ਐਸਐਸਪੀ ਚਰਨਜੀਤ ਸ਼ਰਮਾ, ਐਸਐਚਓ ਅਮਰਜੀਤ ਸਿੰਘ ਅਤੇ ਐਸਐਸਪੀ ਰਘਬੀਰ ਸਿੰਘ ਸੰਧੂ ਖਿਲਾਫ ਕਿਸੇ ਵੀ ਤਰ੍ਹਾਂ ਦੀ ਕਾਰਵਾਈ ‘ਤੇ ਰੋਕ ਲਾਉਣ ਦੇ ਹੁਕਮ ਜਾਰੀ ਕੀਤੇ ਹਨ।

SSP Charanjit Sharma behbal kalan
SSP Charanjit Sharma behbal kalan

ਚਰਨਜੀਤ ਸ਼ਰਮਾ (ਫਾਈਲ ਫੋਟੋ)

ਉਪਰੋਕਤ ਤਿੰਨਾਂ ਦੋਸ਼ੀ ਪੁਲਿਸ ਅਪਸਰਾਂ ਵਲੋਂ ਪਾਈ ਗਈ ਅਪੀਲ ‘ਤੇ ਉਨ੍ਹਾਂ ਦੇ ਪੱਖ ਵਿਚ ਹੁਕਮ ਸੁਣਾਉਂਦਿਆਂ ਅਦਾਲਤ ਨੇ ਪੰਜਾਬ ਸਰਕਾਰ ਨੂੰ 20 ਸਤੰਬਰ ਵਾਲੇ ਦਿਨ ਜਵਾਬ ਦੇਣ ਲਈ ਕਿਹਾ ਹੈ।

ਜ਼ਿਕਰਯੋਗ ਹੈ ਕਿ ਜੱਜ (ਸੇਵਾਮੁਕਤ) ਰਣਜੀਤ ਸਿੰਘ ਕਮਿਸ਼ਨ ਦੇ ਜਾਂਚ ਲੇਖੇ ਦੇ ਅਧਾਰ ‘ਤੇ ਉਪਰੋਕਤ ਤਿੰਨਾਂ ਅਫਸਰਾਂ ਨੂੰ ਬਹਿਬਲ ਕਲਾਂ ਗੋਲੀ ਕਾਂਡ ਲਈ ਦੋਸ਼ੀ ਪਾਇਆ ਗਿਆ ਹੈ।


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button